Message In A Bottle


I looked over the cliff and into the water; the deep, sparkling blue water. I watched the sun rays making different patterns in the water. The light, swishing sound it made every time it hit the rocks. The wind blew against my face. The ends of my light blue gown swept the ground ever so gently. I sat down there, with my legs over the cliff, making different shadows in the water. I looked at the scroll in my hand for one last time and then put it into the bottle, corked it and threw it as far as I could. I looked at it for a while, bobbing slightly in the water. When I lost sight of it, I slowly got up and walked back to the chateau. Remembering those words which I had written, knowing that they would forever be engraved in my heart.

Alone, all alone
Nobody, but nobody
Can make it out here alone.

 

[taken from ‘Alone’ by Maya Angelou]

Leave a Reply

