8 months


I got out of the car and looked at the stairs ahead of me. With shaking hands i opened the bag and checked to see if i had everything with me. Then, with a deep breath i started climbing the stairs. I could feel my heart pounding in my chest. As I reached the top of the staircase i saw the corridor. It hadn’t changed one bit. The same old photos hanging on the wall, the clock ย which never worked – it was all the same. I clutched the bag and stood outside the door. I knew I couldn’t stand there forever, so i pushed the door and went in. He sat in his usual place, going through his register. He looked up at me and gave me a sly smile.

“I wasn’t expecting you. It’s been a long time. Too long i’m afraid.”

I gulped. I knew this was going to happen.

“Well.. i was sort of busy-”

“Excuses, excuses – i know you have your excuses.”

“Well then, what do you propose we do?”

“A little fine perhaps.”

“Yes. I totally understand. I know I kept the books for too long. I promise this won’t happen again. I will be more regular.”

“I have seen you start out with Tinkle, Amar Chitra katha and Archie comics, then move on to Two of a kind, St.Claire’s and Malory Towers, then reach Harry Potter, Meg Cabot, Agatha Christie, Sidney Sheldon, P.G.Wodehouse and Jeffrey Archer. You used to have a passion for reading. And now you barely come here. Don’t give up on reading child, don’t.”

yes, this was the conversation i had with my librarian when i went to return the books i had borrowed 8 months ago!!!!!. in that small library, i first met the love of my life – books!! the books that i read there when i was 9 and 10 opened my eyes to a whole new world. They laid the foundation for my passion today – writing!!. How can I claim to be an amateur writer if I don’t read? It is ok if I do not know my spellings and punctuations very well, It is ok if I have writer’s block every once in a while, but it is not ok if I do not read. I will never grow as a writer, if I do not read more books. So i finally struck a deal with my librarian (who’s name i still do not know!!) that i will come every Saturday and read a new book. I hope I keep up to that. Also in addition to that, I will put up the book that I am reading every week on this blog and if you think that there are some similar or more interesting books that I should read, then please leave a comment ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “8 months

    1. well, we’ve been customers for a very long time in that library. around 20 years i think. my grandmom and my mom also borrow books from there. so the fine was mininmal.
      and thanks for the luck!! hope you have a great time in your library too ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. “There is then creative reading as well as creative writing” – Ralph Waldo Emerson. I think everyone agrees with that! So, obviously, some great reading can and will inspire one to do some ‘good’ writing! (And I liked the suspense you’ve created in the first paragraph.)

Leave a Reply

