i deleted half my fb friends!!


Facebook logo
Image via Wikipedia

facebook has changed the meaning of friendship for all of us. if we are friends with a person on face book it means we are still in contact, because we like each other’s statuses – irrespective of the fact that we cannot remember their faces!! i had 500 odd friends on facebook and i didn’t even know over 100 of them. among the others i couldn’t remember the last time i spoke to most of them and there were very few people who i actually maintained contact with. then what is the point of maintaining “facebook” reltionships with everyone?? what kind of an unrealistic world are we living in where facebook means more than friendship?? yes, facebook is necessary sometimes, when i want to see my far off family and friends ( the one’s whom i actually care about) and the rest are just there for – well,  i don’t even know why they are there. after around two years of wasting time on facebook, i almost deleted my account, but then i realized that there were a lot of people i couldn’t keep in contact with other than facebook, so i just deleted the ones who didn’t matter. and it felt so fricking good!!  it’s like this heavy weight of pretense has been lifted from my chest and i can finally breathe!! (albeit cyber breathing :P) maybe its time we take a step back from social networking and look at our real lives and the real people in it!! 🙂

19 thoughts on “i deleted half my fb friends!!

  1. There are tons of people who think it’s totally cool to have hundreds of friends on FB when they really don’t even know half of them. Luckily, I’m not one of them lol. I only have a little more than 80, which is more than enough for me. I wouldn’t delete mine since I have family in Mexico that I don’t want to lose touch with.
    =)

  2. I guess it’s a cycle. I seen people who go about adding friends at random and suddenly purge the list and months later they’re again on a frenzy. Social Media platforms allow us to go wild 😀 which I guess is perfectly alrite.

    But, I’m glad to know you’re considering spending more time with people from the ‘real’ world. Good move, girl. All the best.

  3. I will honestly say that I have 286 friends. All of whom I either know personally, or they knew me when I was super little. Which is all fine. I’m not one of those people who added somebody I knew for 5 minutes, however, if I intend on remaining in contact with that person I’ll definitely consider it.
    Just like, I know a lot of people from when I was in high school, it doesn’t mean they knew me or would recognize me on the street so I’m not about to add ’em to Facebook for the sake of trying to make small talk.
    Just like some of my friends’ friends had a tendency of attempting to add me. Just because somebody sends me an add alert doesn’t mean I will do them a favor.
    But it’s true! Some people are just bored and decide to add anybody whose name starts with the letter ‘S’…
    Just saying..
    Good post though
    {Sorry I lost my train of thought 1/4 of the way through my typing… silly multi tasking haha}

    1. no problem!! actually its more fun reading stuff like that – makes you feel like you’re talking to the person. and yeah, i am not ashamed to admit that i went through that shameful phase!! thankfully i’m back to normal now!! 🙂 (as normal as normal can get with me 😛 )

  4. Good to see one of you damned young people finally starting to clue in regarding Facebook, or as I call it, Loserbook. Zuckerberg has made a fortune selling “friends” to the friendless…(and personal information to anyone with a chequebook). My short anti-Facebook rant runs for almost 100 pages, so I’ll save you from that torture today.

    I actually think Facebook is what smoking was many decades ago. It’s addictive, it’s unhealthy (mentally), it consumes so much of your time and it isolates you from those closest to you. (The loved one in another room you haven’t spoken to all day) “Everybody” does it, so there’s a lot of peer pressure. Yet, at some point, most hate the fact they are addicted, try to quit, and fail more often than not.

    But if just deleting “friends” felt so good, imagine how quitting altogether feels. Go for it!

    1. Well at this point I can’t just quit, you know. Unlike smoking, Facebook does have its positive side too. I get to talk to my family – aunts, uncles, cousins – who are miles away, even abroad and I can’t get to meet them every now and then. It gives me a way to see their photos, which are nothing but little glimpses of their lives, in a much faster way. For example, my aunt who lives abroad recently uploaded photos of my 5 year old cousin’s first day of school. I almost cried!! So, I would hate to miss out on things like that. Also, I find it to be a great way to publicize my blog. But yes, if we aren’t careful it could take over our lives. I’m glad that i got out of that phase. Most people my age too aren’t very fascinated by it any more. But i see a lot of 12 – 13 year olds becoming addicted today, and I know that their time will come too.

      🙂

      1. Hey, smoking was perfectly good for you! Doctors said it even reduced stress! (caused by not getting your fix, perhaps)

        http://www.hemonctoday.com/article.aspx?rid=37712

        all that great, long distance, communication you mentioned would still be possible without Facebook, but you might have to communicate using ancient technologies that aren’t nearly so fashionable.

        One you may have heard of is e-mail. With e-mail, you can send unique messages directly to the person/persons you want to communicate with and not just “the entire world”. What’s truly amazing about this old technology is that you can also send attachments: photos, sound files, movie files and web links. One wonders how this became an obsolete technology. My guess is that it didn’t have corporate PR departments behind it like social networking sites do.

        Then there’s the device Alexander Graham Bell invented about 130 years ago. It’s like an audio-only version of Skype, but with far better sound. It’s like a smart phone, except that you can actually use it as phone. What’s shocking is that Bell’s ancient device actually let’s you communicate with somebody in real time! Who said old technology has to be slow?

        Finally, you’re too young to remember when people used to send their important personal communications through what was called The (insert your nation here) Postal Service. Much like e-mail, you could send text, pictures, audio, video and all manner of items. It was completely private, un-hackable and would be hand delivered to your door for just a small fee! The only catch was that it took a few days. On the upside, the delay enhanced your anticipation of the package’s arrival and made you appreciate it even more when it did arrive.

        The point of my good natured sarcasm is to show that these obsolete and almost forgotten technologies aren’t so obsolete. They may not be the trendy “in” thing, but they do the job just as well. The added time & effort it might take tells the other person that you care enough to take that time & effort. It’s the thought that counts, not the convenience or “kewlness” of the method. (As far as I can tell, Facebook isn’t doing anything I couldn’t do on-line 20 years ago. Its utility is entirely dependant on its popularity and its popularity stems almost entirely from its hype…and addictiveness.)

        These days, any jackass can whip off a snarky message to damn near anybody in mere minutes. (Spoiler Alert: This comment one of them!) So, they do it a lot and it means very little. It’s usually just a way to kill time. In an age where every insignificant thought can be instantaneously communicated to everyone, deeper meaning is also becoming “outdated & obsolete”. Only somebody really worth caring for would real-mail you a letter with actual pictures. That message you got from your family is what a lot more communications were like way back when. Luckily, it was able to penetrate the meaningless clutter of today’s communication. (And I’m NO way belittling it, just saying it didn’t need Facebook to get to you.)

        Good luck with your addiction. I was lucky enough to have “just said no” to that arrogant crack peddler, Zuckerberg, and all his blithering junkies who want to be my “friend”. 🙂

        1. Umm.. ok 🙂 I understand that you don’t really like Facebook (that’s an understatement actually) but like I said, I’m not ready to jump off that train yet. Good luck to you too, and I’m happy you aren’t addicted.

Leave a Reply

