And they lived happily ever after!


I’m 18 years old, almost done with my first year of college and I’ve got two more years left! I’ve made amazing friends in the the last one year – some totally new people and some people who were always around but I never really realized how special they were! I know that two years from now all of us will be entering completely new worlds and while some pursue higher education, others will start working! Most of us will leave our hometown and venture into the world. Obviously this process of settling down takes years! And while we are busy trying to find a foothold in the enormous mountain of life which we set out to climb, we will have little or no time for friends! I have seen this in other people’s lives and from a long time I had been convincing myself that the same would happen to me. Up till a year ago, I was sure that these friends that I would make in college would be with me only for a period of 3 years and I had no issue with it. But as the clock ticked and that moment drew closer, I started fretting over the fact that I have very limited time with these people! I didn’t want the days to fly by and I didn’t want that day to arrive when I would have to say goodbye. I would stay up late into the night thinking about that day and more than often, there would be tears in my eyes. I didn’t want my prediction to come true; the prediction being that once you are thrust into the outside world, you will not have space for friends in your life. So I was in a point in my life where I was desperately trying to cling on to something important, but the more I held on – the faster it slipped away.

Then last night I went out for dinner with my family and on the adjacent table sat a woman who was approximately 60 years of age. She kept looking at her watch and I wondered who she was waiting for. Around 20 minutes later three other women walked in and when the four of them saw each other they were laughing and screaming and hugging each other! For that one moment when they saw each other they all looked beautifully young. As I observed them talking animatedly, it became obvious that these were bffs who went really long back! I could practically see 16 year olds talkingΒ amongΒ themselves in these 60 year old women.

That bunch of women gave me hope. They showed me that friendship could last – literally forever! I do not know who those women were, where they lived or how often they saw each other or what the situation was exactly, but I did see friendship in them! A sweet and loving friendship. I could see me and my girls sitting at that table a few decades from now. This might be a very silly thing to take inspiration from, but it did inspire me nevertheless. It inspired me to stop thinking about how to deal with moving away from my friends and to start thinking about ways to keep in touch. I do not know how much I love my girls or why I love them but I do know that I want them to be a part of my life forever! I’m going to enjoy the next two years as much as I can and hopefully after that we’ll be as close as ever.

I’ll find out about that two year’s from now – so I won’t continue to fret over it! For now I just want to believe in a different kind of ‘and they lived happily ever after.. ‘ These are my girls – the ones I’ve known for a really long time now and the ones who probably know me the best!

And while these might be my besties there are so many others I do not want to lose!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those people who make you feel good when your not, those people who turn everything from imperfect to simply perfect, those people whom you begin to miss even though it’s been just a while since you’ll parted , yeah , they are friends and I have got amazing ones! you guys are the best gift ever!

(courtesy – Deepika Vasani)

πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “And they lived happily ever after!

  1. I remember second year. My GPA fell to 1.8. In 1968 it meant you had one semester to pull it up or you got drafted to visit Uncle Ho in Vietnam War. I got those two B’s and finished next two years.

  2. And all these friends of your’s want to say to you, That we love you! πŸ™‚
    and be it 60 years or 360 for that matter, we shall never ever part πŸ™‚
    because some memories are not supposed to fade and as long as pizza’s exist we will surely meet often πŸ˜€ Love you my everything πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

